A visit from the Procrastination Fairy

Again the thesis whisperer rescues me from procrastination on my final piece of work for the old MA …. thank you 🙂 Reblogging this fab post 🙂

The Thesis Whisperer

I put out two papers to top journals containing my thesis results early this year. Both editors want to publish, but are demanding significant changes before that happens. It’s all to the good of course, there’s a reason they are top journals, but I am finding the process of revisiting these articles incredibly hard work.

In fact, it would be fair to say that Procrastination Fairy has sprinkled me with her Can’t Be Bothered dust in a big way.

This kind of revision is a profoundly unpleasant activity. The problem with a peer review, if properly applied, is that it leads to DOUBT. To some extent I have lost confidence in the work and started to second guess myself. As a consequence, the whole time I have the documents open I have an uncomfortable sense of failure.

It’s easy – far too easy – just not to open the…

View original post 835 more words

