Beginning with Social Media

Really useful post from Pam Vreeland on all things social media – and check out her links too – interesting stuff

Learning in an Online and Blended World

Last week I was tasked with putting together a one-page “cheat sheet” on social media for education. Knowing there are thousands of well-done infographics on that very subject, I did what anyone would do… Googled it! And, as I expected, fabulous, creative results.

Social media image webtreats.mysitemyway.com

The challenge now is deciding which of the vast resources to share. One I particularly like looks at Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Google+, Tumblr and digg: http://www.teachthought.com/social-media/social-media-cheat-sheet-for-teachers/. That fits because I anticipate my audience is on Facebook, has used YouTube and knows of Twitter, but is unfamiliar with Google+, Tumblr and digg. It is a good opportunity to make them more aware of possibilities they may not think of.

Pinterest is another social media site I want to highlight. Love Pinterest! While a number of people I know use Pinterest, the classroom focus is something instructors may not have thought about. A great “cheat sheet” for…

View original post 370 more words

